banner

« All Events

Natural History Book Club: The Soul of the Night

August 17- 9:00 am - 10:30 am

In the visionary yet intimate tradition of Carl Sagan and Lewis Thomas, The Soul of the Night joins science to the deeper personal concerns of philosophy. It is an astronomer’s odyssey through the heavens, bonding the glorious, mysterious phenomena of the night sky to the workings of the human mind and psyche.

It is an exploration of how the stars reinforce our humanity, one that moves through the realms of mythology, literature, religion, history, and anthropology for its inspiration.

Illustrated by Michael McCurdy with striking woodcuts that are themselves visual poems in the tradition of William Blake, The Soul of the Night is remarkable in many ways. It adds a new dimension to the science of space that so captures our modern imagination.

Chet Raymo is Professor Emeritus at Stonehill College in North Easton, Massachusetts. He is the author of more than a dozen books on science and nature. His work has been widely anthologized, including in the Norton Book of Nature Writing and annual editions of Best American Science and Nature Writing. He is a winner of a 1998 Lannan Literary Award for his nonfiction work.

-from Science Musings by Chet Raymo

Details

Date:
August 17
Time:
9:00 am - 10:30 am
Website:
https://www.facebook.com/events/1794773950614869/

Organizer

Natural History Institute
Phone:
928-863-3232
Email:
INFO@NATURALHISTORYINSTITUTE.ORG
Website:
naturalhistoryinstitute.org

Venue

Natural History Institute
126 N. Marina St.
Prescott, AZ 86301 United States
+ Google Map
Phone:
(928) 863-3232
Website:
naturalhistoryinstitute.org

E-News Sign-up